Quaid-e-Azam Trophy


The Quaid e Azam Trophy is an annual cricket tournament held in Pakistan and one of the country’s most prestigious tournaments. The championship has been running since 1956 and is the oldest cricket tournament in Pakistan. It is considered a major event of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). The tournament attracts great players from different countries and provides a platform for them to showcase their skills and compete with some of the best players from around the world. This blog post will explore why this tournament is so important for Pakistani cricket and some of its history and recent successes.


The Quaid-e-Azam Trophy is a first-class cricket tournament in Pakistan. It is named after the country’s founder, Muhammad Ali Jinnah, and is currently contested by six regional teams. 

The trophy was first contested in 1953–54 when five teams competed in a round-robin tournament. Karachi won the inaugural edition, defeating Peshawar in the final. The following season, Lahore replaced Peshawar in the competition. Quetta joined the tournament in 1955–56, with Islamabad making its debut the following season. Hyderabad (now in Pakistan) and Rawalpindi were admitted to the trophy in 1957–58 and 1958–59, respectively.

Faisalabad (then Lyallpur) won the trophy for the first time in 1960–61, but not until 1969–70 did any team other than Karachi or Lahore triumph again. This drought ended when Multan defeated Lahore by four wickets in the 1974–75 final – a result that sparked riots in Lahore. Sialkot emerged as a strong team during this period, winning the trophy three times between 1977–78 and 1981–82. 

Since 1982–83, when nine teams played each other home and away over seven months, there have been significant changes to both the structure and format of the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy. In 1992–93, for example, 16 regional teams

How the Quaid e Azam trophy is won?

To win the Quaid e Azam trophy, a team must first finish in the top two of their group. The teams that finish in the top two of their group will then proceed to the knockout stage, where they will compete in an elimination tournament. The team that wins the final match will be crowned the Quaid e Azam trophy champion.

Who has won the Quaid e Azam trophy?

The Quaid-e-Azam Trophy is a first-class cricket competition in Pakistan. It is named after the country’s founder, Muhammad Ali Jinnah, and is known as the Patron’s Trophy. The trophy was first contested in 1953-54 and has been played for regularly since then. The trophy is currently held by the Lahore Blues, who won it in the 2016-17 season.


The Quaid-e-Azam Tropy is a great way for emerging cricketers to showcase their skills. The competition gives teams from all over Pakistan an opportunity to compete against each other. With its long history and the recent resurgence of interest in the tournament, it has become one of the most prestigious tournaments in Pakistan cricket. With this article, we hope to have given you a better understanding of the tournament, so you can follow along with enthusiasm next time your team plays!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button